Chez Nous: Christmas with Elektra

Each year, on the night before the first Sunday in Advent, music lovers gather in Vancouver, Canada, for Elektra Women’s Choir’s anticipation of the Christmas season. This heartwarming concert touches on familiar melodies, new compositions and arrangements, audience participation, the voices of children, and the artistry of some of Vancouver’s finest instrumentalists and composers. Chez Nous [pronounced: shay noo] is French for “at our house”, a phrase that Canadians understand well to mean hospitality and friendship.

This CD celebrates musical highlights of several years of Chez Nous, and reflects the mix of familiar touchstones and exciting new compositions that are the hallmark of the live concerts. In addition to no fewer than six exciting newer Canadian works and some of our favorite guest artists, we are pleased to re-release our 1992 recording with Rita Costanzi of Benjamin Britten’s timeless A Ceremony of Carols, a work Elektra continues to perform and delight in.

Booklet: Chez Nous

1. Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming
2. Star Song
3. Joys Seven
4. A Ceremony of Carols: Procession
5. A Ceremony of Carols: Wolcom Yole!
6. A Ceremony of Carols: There is No Rose
7. A Ceremony of Carols: That yongë child
8. A Ceremony of Carols: Balulalow
9. A Ceremony of Carols: As dew in Aprille
10. A Ceremony of Carols: This little Babe
11. A Ceremony of Carols: Interlude
12. A Ceremony of Carols: In Freezing Winter Night
13. A Ceremony of Carols: Spring Carol
14. A Ceremony of Carols: Adam lay i-bounden
15. A Ceremony of Carols:Recession
16. Da Pacem
17. Yorkshire Wassail
18. December
19. Three in White: a suite of songs about snow
20. Night Of Silence
Michael Praetorious, arr. Stephen Smith *
Edward Henderson *
traditional English, arr. James Laster
Jeffrey Enns *
traditional English, arr. Stephen Smith *
Robert Buckley *
arr. Stephen Smith *
Daniel Kantor

* Canadian tracks Canadian Composition