From the Heart

This recording brings you fifteen pieces that have evoked an overwhelming response from Elektra’s audiences around the world. Eight of the selections—most of them well known folk songs—are from Canada. The opening track is David MacIntyre’s electrifying Ave Maria. Fine works by European and British composers, and the Missa Brevis by American composer Ron Jeffers round out the recording.

Booklet: From the Heart

1. Ave Maria
2. Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen
3. Missa Brevis in temporare violentiae: Kyrie
4. Missa Brevis in temporare violentiae: Gloria
5. Flos Regali
6. Linden Lea
7. Two Eastern Pictures: Spring
8. Two Eastern Pictures: Summer
9. The Lass of Richmond Hill
10. Follow Me Down to Carlow
11. Reel à Bouche
12. Away from the Roll of the Sea
13. She’s Like the Swallow
14. Wood River
15. The Log Driver’s Waltz
16. Heaven Bound Train
17. J’entends le Moulin
David MacIntyre *
Josef Rheinberger
Ron Jeffers
Ron Jeffers
Ralph Vaughan Williams
Gustav Holst
Gustav Holst
arr. Jonathan Willcocks
arr. Percy E. Fletcher
arr. Malcolm Dalglish *
Allister MacGillivray, arr. D. Loomer *
Trad. Newfoundland, arr. Stephen Smith *
Connie Kaldor, arr. Willi Zwozdesky *
Wade Hemsworth, arr. Ron Smail *
arr. Stephen Hatfield *
arr. Donald Patriquin *

* Canadian tracks Canadian Composition