Elektra’s Garden


Buy Physical CD:


Elektra’s Garden is a collection of secular music from many parts of the world, including Spain, France, England, the United States and Canada. The music, much of it recently written, evocatively explores the human experiences of nature and love. Canadian composers Allan Bevan, Eleanor Daley, Allison Girvan, Diane Loomer, and Stephen Smith offer works ranging from new compositions to lyrical texts to exceptional folk song arrangements. The disc also includes two major suites: the delicate and deservedly famous Five Hebrew Love Songs by Eric Whitacre and Historietas del Viento (Stories of the Wind) from Spain’s Alejandro Yagüe (poetry by Lorca), which was written for Elektra.

with Nancy DiNovo, violin; Stephen Smith, piano

Booklet here: Elektra’s Garden

Pieces on this Recording:

  1. Scarborough Fair Canadian Composition Traditional English Stephen Smith (arr) 
  2. Five Hebrew Love Songs Eric Whitacre
  3. To Morning Canadian Composition Allan Bevan
  4. Let Me Fish Off Cape St. Mary’s Canadian Composition Otto P. Kelland Diane Loomer (arr) 
  5. Kaipaava Traditional Finnish Wurorela and Chydenius (arr) 
  6. Historietas del Viento Alejandro Yague
  7. Que doncella se casa con el viento? (from Historietas del Viento) Alejandro Yague
  8. Harp of Wild Canadian Composition Allan Bevan
  9. Les Angélus Claude Debussy Clytus Gottwald (arr) 
  10. Lake Isle of Innisfree, The Canadian Composition Eleanor Daley
  11. V’la l’bon vent Canadian Composition Traditional French Canadian Allison Girvan (arr) 
  12. Love Went a-Riding Canadian Composition Frank Bridge Stephen Smith (arr) 
  13. Here’s to Song Canadian Composition Allister MacGillivray Diane Loomer (arr) 

Canadian Composition Legend Canadian Composition