From the Heart

Catalogue No: SKYLARK MUSIC SKY9602

This recording brings you fifteen pieces that have evoked an overwhelming response from Elektra’s audiences around the world. Eight of the selections—most of them well known folk songs—are from Canada. The opening track is David MacIntyre’s electrifying Ave Maria. Fine works by European and British composers, and the Missa Brevis by American composer Ron Jeffers round out the recording.

with Eric Hominick, piano

Booklet here: From the Heart

Pieces on this Recording:

  1. Ave Maria Canadian Work David MacIntyre
  2. Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen op.35 Josef Gabriel Rheinberger
  3. Missa Brevis in tempore violentiae Ron Jeffers
  4. Flos Regalis Anonymous
  5. Linden Lea Ralph Vaughan Williams
  6. Two Eastern Pictures Gustav Holst
  7. Lass of Richmond Hill, The Traditional English Jonathan Willcocks (arr) 
  8. Follow Me Down to Carlow Traditional Irish Percy Fletcher (arr) 
  9. Reel à Bouche Canadian Work Traditional French Canadian Malcolm Dalglish (arr) 
  10. Away from the Roll of the Sea Canadian Work Allister MacGillivray Diane Loomer (arr) 
  11. She’s Like the Swallow Canadian Work Traditional Newfoundland Stephen Chatman (arr) 
  12. Wood River Canadian Work Connie Kaldor Willi Zwozdesky (arr) 
  13. Log Driver’s Waltz, The Canadian Work Wade Hemsworth Ron Smail (arr) 
  14. Heaven Bound Train Canadian Work Traditional Spiritual Stephen Hatfield (arr) 
  15. J’entends le moulin Canadian Work Traditional French Canadian Donald Patriquin (arr) 

Canadian Work Legend Canadian Work