On Christmas Night

Buy Physical CD:

Catalogue No: E1901

Elektra’s 2019 Christmas CD brings together evocative choral music from Canada, the US, Romania, and Spain. Original works range from the stunning opening track, A Cradle Song by Eric Tuan, to Stephen Smith’s exuberant  new The Time of Christëmas and the charming partner song by Abbie Betinis, Romance in Waltz Time. And what better season to connect with centuries-old melodies than Christmas?  From the traditions of Romania, France, Spain, Germany, England, Ireland, and a Mennonite hymn book, this disc offers fresh and dynamic arrangements by Shawn Kirchner, Kitka Women’s Vocal Ensemble, Cassie Luftspring, Stephen Smith, and Bernat Vivancos.  These are first recordings of many of these works, six of which were written for Elektra. Laura Hawley’s Carol Trilogy is the featured work. 

Our guest artist, Vancouver-based tenor Carman Price, is featured in three tracks.

Total time: 41:12

Dropcards are available at a price of CAD $10 plus postage.  To order, email manager@elektra.ca

Booklet here: On Christmas Night CD booklet

Pieces on this Recording:

  1. Cradle Song, A Eric Tuan
  2. Sweet Was The Song Canadian Composition Stephen Smith (arr) 
  3. Domnulet si domn din cer Traditional Romanian
  4. El cant dels ocells Bernat Vivancos (arr) 
  5. Pat-a-pan Bernard de La Monnoye (1641–1728) Shawn Kirschner (arr) 
  6. Time of Christëmas, The Canadian Composition Stephen Smith
  7. Romance in Waltz Time Abbie BetinisAlfred S. Burt
  8. On Christmas Canadian Composition Cassie Luftspring (arr) 
  9. Noël Bourguignon (movement 1 from “Carol Trilogy”) Canadian Composition Bernard de La Monnoye (1641–1728) laura hawley (arr) 
  10. In dulci jubilo (movement 2 of “Carol Trilogy”) Canadian Composition Traditional German laura hawley (arr) 
  11. Wexford Carol (movement 3 from “Carol Trilogy”) Canadian Composition Traditional Irish laura hawley (arr) 

Canadian Composition Legend Canadian Composition